One of my dirty little secrets: I love ‘Teen’ novels….

While I will not get into the train wreck that was the “Twilight” movies…. I must say, I loved the books. I read the entire series in 5 days, and then re-read it again over the next week. I know a lot of these books are geared towards the ‘younger’ crowd, but F it.. I love them. My thirst for good reading material seems insatiable. I can dominate a trilogy in 2 days flat, and my nook collection rivals my Steam download list. While I never tire of reading, I do get very tiresome of the mountains of horrible crap I have to read through before I find that special “It” book that I can get lost in. I’m sure there is probably a special place in hell, the psych ward.. or prison.. for women like me who can get completely lost in the angsty life of a fictional teenage girl, but I don’t care. My hellbound handbasket is filled with books, so at least my journey down wont be boring. 😛

Don’t get me wrong here.. my entire reading list isn’t composed of the trials and tribulations of puberty. I’ve been reading Stephen King since before the internet, the Chronicles of Narnia inspired my childhood, The Wheel of Time series provided my first fictional crush, and Tom Clancy novels fed the tomboy in me for decades. Add to that my subscriptions to Woodworking magazine and my devoted following of NASA’s website, and I’d say my reading is pretty well rounded. Still… my favorite go-to’s on a rainy afternoon always lead me into the mythological world of Vampires, Werewolves, Angels, Demons and a host of other supernatural beings. On a side note.. ‘Supernatural’ is an awesome TV show, FYI. Back to the books though. For those of you, who like myself, have a tragic addiction to the “It’s the same teen love triangle story over and over, but I’m still gonna read it!” genre… allow me to introduce you to some of my favorite series.

Twilight – Stephenie Meyer
Fallen – Lauren Kate
Hush Hush – Becca Fitzpatrick
Soul Seekers – Alyson Noel
Body Finder – Kimberly Derting
Need – Carrie Jones
Witch & Wizard – James Patterson
House of Night – P.C. Cast, Kristin Cast
Study Series – Maria V. Snyder

and my current series in progress, Teardrop, also by Lauren Kate. I am currently on book 2 of this series, and though the start of book 1 was a little slow, it had really picked up by chapter 5 and now I can’t put it down.. much. I am always looking for a good read, so if you know of a series you think I might be interested in, please share!

Leave a Reply

